ICLP 2017

Ricardo Rocha and Tran Cao Son

August/September 2017


This special issue of Theory and Practice of Logic Programming (TPLP) contains the regular papers accepted for presentation at the 33rd International Conference on Logic Programming (ICLP 2017), held in Melbourne, Australia from the 28th of August to the 1st of September, 2017. ICLP 2017 was colocated with the 23rd International Conference on Principles and Practice of Constraint Programming (CP 2017) and the 20th International Conference on Theory and Applications of Satisfiability Testing (SAT 2017). Since the first conference held in Marseille in 1982, ICLP has been the premier international event for presenting research in logic programming. Contributions to ICLP are sought in all areas of logic programming, including: Three kinds of submissions were accepted: This year, ICLP adopted the hybrid publication model used in all recent editions of the conference, with journal papers and Technical Communications (TCs), following a decision made in 2010 by the Association for Logic Programming. Papers of the highest quality were selected to be published as rapid publications in this special issue of TPLP. The TCs comprise papers which the Program Committee (PC) judged of good quality but not yet of the standard required to be accepted and published in TPLP as well as dissertation project descriptions stemming from the Doctoral Program (DP) held with ICLP.
We received 72 submissions of abstracts, of which 55 resulted in full submissions. The Program Chairs, acting as guest editors of the special issue, organized the refereeing process, which was undertaken by the PC with the support of external reviewers. Each paper was reviewed by at least three referees who provided detailed written evaluations. This enabled a list of papers to be short-listed as candidates for rapid communication. The authors of these papers revised their submissions in light of the reviewers' suggestions, and all these papers were subject to a second round of reviewing. Of these candidates papers, 21 were accepted as rapid communications, to appear in the special issue. In addition, the PC recommended 13 papers to be accepted as TCs, of which 11 were also presented at the conference (2 were withdraw). These TCs, together with the presentations from the Doctoral Consortium, were published by Dagstuhl Publishing in Volume 58 of their OpenAccess Series in Informatics (OASIcs), available at http://www.dagstuhl.de/oasics. The 21 rapid communications that appear in this special issue are listed below, in alphabetical order of the first author: After consultation with the PC, the paper ``The Intricacies of 3-Valued Extensional Semantics for Higher-Order Logic Programs'' was awarded the best paper prize, and the paper ``Finite model reasoning over existential rules'' was awarded the best student paper prize. The best papers were selected by the PC from those submissions with the joint highest aggregate score, as assigned by the reviewers. Each member of the PC was awarded 4 marks that they could divide between these candidate papers. The best student paper was selected likewise.
In addition to the presentations of accepted papers, the technical program of ICLP 2017 included five invited talks: and the tutorials: as well as two Test-of-Time award presentations: The Test-of-Time papers were ranked by using citations as a proxy for impact. The web portals Scopus, Web of Science, Semantic Scholar and Google Scholar were used for collecting citations; care was taken to remove self-citations and check for citations that were split between a conference paper and a follow-up journal paper. The conference technical program was augmented by the already traditional Doctoral Program, organized by Neda Saeedloei and Christopher Mears, and by several pre-conference workshops.
We would like to thank the organizers of these affiliated events for their contributions to the conference as a whole. We are of course also deeply indebted to the Program Committee members and external reviewers, as the conference would not have been possible without their dedicated, enthusiastic and outstanding work. The Program Committee members were: Mario Alviano, Marcello Balduccini, Pedro Cabalar, Mats Carlsson, Manuel Carro, Michael Codish, Alessandro Dal Palù, Broes De Cat, Marina De Vos, Marc Denecker, Agostino Dovier, Inês Dutra, Esra Erdem, Wolfgang Faber, Thom Fruehwirth, Sarah Alice Gaggl, Graeme Gange, Maria Garcia De La Banda, Marco Gavanelli, Martin Gebser, Gopal Gupta, Amelia Harrison, Manuel V. Hermenegildo, Tomi Janhunen, Andy King, Ekaterina Komendantskaya, Joohyung Lee, Michael Leuschel, Vladimir Lifschitz, Alessandra Mileo, Enrico Pontelli, C. R. Ramakrishnan, Francesco Ricca, Ricardo Rocha, Alessandra Russo, Chiaki Sakama, Tom Schrijvers, Tran Cao Son, Theresa Swift, Guido Tack, Paul Tarau, Daniele Theseider Dupre', Mirek Truszczynski, German Vidal, Jan Wielemaker, Stefan Woltran, Jia-Huai You, and Neng-Fa Zhou.
The external reviewers were: Joaquin Arias, Marc Bezem, Bernhard Bliem, Zhuo Chen, Jonnathan Cook, Bernardo Cuteri, Fabio Aurelio D'Asaro, Ingmar Dasseville, Besik Dundua, Andrea Formisano, Michael Frank, Daniel Gall, Jianmin Ji, Georgios Karachalias, Arash Karimi, Michael Kifer, Ruben Lapauw, Thomas Linsbichler, Fangfang Liu, Yanhong A. Liu, Kyle Marple, Michael Morak, Jose F. Morales, Falco Nogatz, Adrian Palacios, Le Thi Anh Thu Pham, Javier Romero, Elmer Salazar, Vitor Santos Costa, Lukas Schweizer, Farhad Shakerin, Nada Sharaf, Roni Stern, Alwen Tiu, Matthias van der Hallen, Alicia Villanueva, Yi Wang, Philipp Wanko, and Zhun Yang.
We would also like to express our gratitude to the full ICLP 2017 organization committee, namely Maria Garcia de la Banda and Guido Tack, who acted as general chairs; Enrico Pontelli, who served as workshop chair; Tommaso Urli, who acted as publicity chair and designed the web pages; Christopher Mears and Neda Saeedloei, who jointly chaired the Doctoral Program of ICLP and CP; and, finally, Paul Fodor and Graeme Gange, who organized the programming contest.
Our gratitude must be extended to Torsten Schaub, who is serving in the role of President of the Association of Logic Programming (ALP), to all the members of the ALP Executive Committee and to Mirek Truszczyński, Editor-in-Chief of TPLP. Also, to the staff at Cambridge University Press, especially Richard Horley and Samira Ceccarelli, and to the personnel at Schloss Dagstuhl-Leibniz Zentrum für Informatik, especially Marc Herbstritt, for their timely assistance. We would also like to thank the staff of the EasyChair conference management system for making the life of the Program Chairs easier. Thanks should go also to the authors of all submitted papers for their contribution to make ICLP alive and to the participants for making the event a meeting point for a fruitful exchange of ideas and feedback on recent developments.
Finally, we would like to thank our generous gold-tier sponsors -- the Association for Logic Programming, the Association for Constraint Programming, the Monash University, the University of Melbourne, CSIRO Data61, COSYTEC and Satalia; our generous bronze-tier sponsors -- Google; and our generous donors -- the European Association for Artificial Intelligence, the International Journal of Artificial Intelligence, Springer, CompSustNet and Cosling.


  editor =    {R. Rocha and T. Cao Son},
  title =     {Journal of Theory and Practice of Logic Programming, 
               33rd International Conference on Logic Programming (ICLP 2017), Special Issue},
  publisher = {Cambridge University Press},
  volume =    {17},
  number =    {5 \& 6},
  month =     {August/September},
  year =      {2017},
  address =   {Melbourne, Australia},

Download Proceedings

Cambridge University Press